The World I Come From

My first post on here woot woot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Feel dis is fitting huh?
This is a response to the UC application essay prompts; it asked us to “Describe the world you come from.”


      I held her hand as she died on that night in March. Sitting in the stifling hospital ICU room for a week after learning my great grandmother had a stroke, tears were no longer encrusted on the outside of my eyes. To learn that the person you were most close to will no longer be on this earth is something I had to take in through stages. In a way, I’m glad she didn’t pass away so suddenly, but rather in a week; exactly a week from the Saturday of the initial stroke to the Saturday when we, as a family, decided to take her off of a feeding tube and air pump due to the horrible condition she was in; the doctor had told us that due to the prolonged period in which her brain did not receive oxygen, her brainstem had suffered permanent and irreversible damage.
     So on that Saturday my entire family came to show their support; they knew my grandmother was so vastly important to me. We gathered around her hospital bed and acknowledged the inescapable. I sat on a chair beside her and held her hand. I didn’t care that she couldn’t feel me. I didn’t care about anything. But there my mom was, right next to me, stroking my back as if to say “It’ll be okay”. And my grandpa too, he was on the other side, talking to his unconscious mother. And all of my aunts and uncles and cousins and pastors and distant family friends whom I’d never met before; they were all there. All of us, showing how much we cared for this one person, and ultimately, how much we cared for each other.
     This is the world I come from; a family. I grow from nights on street with my sister, from casual banter with my dear mother, from innocent fun with my cousins, from car rides with my aunts; these experiences are the closest things I have, and they have indeed molded me into the independent individual that I am proud to be today.
     That March night in the ICU couldn’t be a better example of how amazing my family really is. I’m so unconditionally glad that I had my family supporting me in that rough time. And if my great grandmother had perhaps been silently awake at that moment, she would have seen all of our kind faces looking at her; all of the people in our family she once shared special moments with. That night the biggest influence on me, the greatest thing to ever happen to me, was going to die. I knew it, and I leaned over to her and said “don’t you worry, I’ll be fine, I promise.” To this day I remember those very words, and to this day they are a reminder that the one most important thing in your life – your family, is something so emotionally captivating ; something I wouldn’t trade for the world.
Leave a Reply

